Sexual battery reported on campus

first_imgNotre Dame Security Police (NDSP) emailed students Wednesday evening alerting them to a report of sexual battery that occurred early Sunday morning.The alleged battery took place “at a campus-wide social event,” and the report was made to a University administrator, the email stated.The email quoted “du Lac: A Guide to Student Life,” Notre Dame’s official policy book, and warned students of the risks of sexual assault as well as the standards for consent.“Sexual assault or battery can happen to anyone,” the email stated. “Anyone initiating any kind of sexual contact with another person must seek consent and not engage in sexual contact unless consent is given.”“… Intoxication is not an excuse for failure to obtain consent, and a person who is incapacitated — whether by alcohol, drugs or otherwise — is incapable of giving consent.”Students should maintain caution and awareness of their surroundings to avoid risks, the email stated.“On college campuses, perpetrators are more likely to assault an acquaintance than a stranger. Being aware of your own safety and watching out for your friends are important steps you can take to reduce the risk of sexual assault.“The perpetrator, not the survivor, is responsible for any instance of sexual assault. Nothing a survivor does or does not do is an excuse for sexual assault.”Tags: crime alert, NDSP, Sexual batterylast_img read more

Read more

Southland Men’s Basketball Season Tips Off Next Tuesday

first_imgThe contest is one of 117 broadcasts across the ESPN Networks and various other platforms on the slate of television and streaming games for the 2019-20 season. Coverage will also be provided for each matchup in the Southland Conference Tournament, set to take place March 11-14 at the Leonard E. Merrell Center in Katy, Texas. The Southland title game will tip off at 8:30 p.m. on March 14 on ESPN2. SEC Network Plus:Wednesday, Nov. 6 – Northwestern State at Texas A&M, 7 p.m.Wednesday, Nov. 6 – UIW at Missouri, 7 p.m.Friday, Nov. 8 – Sam Houston State at Mississippi State, 7 p.m.Saturday, Nov. 16 – Nicholls at LSU, 3 or 7 p.m.Sunday, Nov. 17 – New Orleans at Mississippi State, 2 p.m.Monday, Nov. 25 – Southeastern Louisiana at Vanderbilt, 7 p.m.Friday, Dec. 6 – Stephen F. Austin at Alabama, 7 p.m.Sunday, Dec. 15 – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at Texas A&M, 5 p.m.Saturday, Dec. 21 – Southeastern Louisiana at Mississippi, 1 p.m. ESPN+:Tuesday, Nov. 5 – Central Arkansas at Baylor, 11 a.m.Wednesday, Nov. 6 – LeTourneau at Stephen F. Austin, 6:30 p.m.Wednesday, Nov. 6 – McNeese at Western Michigan, 7:00 p.m.Saturday, Nov. 9 – McNeese at Louisiana, 7 p.m.Tuesday, Nov. 12 – Lamar at Duquesne, 6 p.m.Wednesday, Nov. 13 – Niagara at Stephen F. Austin, 6:30 p.m.Wednesday, Nov. 20 – LeTourneau at Sam Houston State, 6:30 p.m.Friday, Nov. 22 – McNeese at Richmond, 6 p.m.Saturday, Nov. 23 – Southeastern Louisiana at Austin Peay, 7 p.m.Tuesday, Dec. 3 – Southeastern Louisiana at Louisiana, 7 p.m.Thursday, Dec. 5 – Southeast Missouri State at Abilene Christian, 7:30 p.m.Saturday, Dec. 7 – Rice at Lamar, 2 p.m.Saturday, Dec. 14 – ULM at Stephen F. Austin, 8 p.m.Wednesday, Dec. 18 – Southeastern Louisiana at Lamar, 7 p.m.Saturday, Dec. 21 – Nicholls at Abilene Christian, 7 p.m.Saturday, Dec. 28 – Paul Quinn at Stephen F. Austin, 2 p.m.Sunday, Dec. 29 – Southeastern Louisiana at Oklahoma State, 2 p.m.Wednesday, Jan. 8 – McNeese at Abilene Christian, 7 p.m.Wednesday, Jan. 15 – Sam Houston State at Lamar, 7 p.m.Saturday, Jan. 18 – UIW at Stephen F. Austin, 4:30 p.m.Saturday, Jan. 18 – Southeastern Louisiana at Abilene Christian, 7 p.m.Wednesday, Jan. 22 – Abilene Christian at Sam Houston State, 7:30 p.m.Saturday, Jan. 25 – Stephen F. Austin at Lamar, 4:30 p.m.Wednesday, Jan. 29 – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at Sam Houston State, 6:30 p.m.Wednesday, Jan. 29 – Abilene Christian at Stephen F. Austin, 6:30 p.m.Wednesday, Feb. 5 – Nicholls at Stephen F. Austin, 6:30 p.m.Wednesday, Feb. 5 – Central Arkansas at Lamar, 7 p.m.Saturday, Feb. 8 – New Orleans at Stephen F. Austin, 4:30 p.m.Saturday, Feb. 8 – Lamar at Abilene Christian, 7 p.m.Wednesday, Feb. 12 – Houston Baptist at Abilene Christian, 7:30 p.m.Wednesday, Feb. 19 – Lamar at Sam Houston State, 6:30 p.m.Wednesday, Feb. 19 – Central Arkansas at Stephen F. Austin, 6:30 p.m.Saturday, Feb. 22 – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at Lamar, 4:30 p.m.Saturday, Feb. 22 – Houston Baptist at Sam Houston State, 5:30 p.m.Wednesday, Feb. 26 – Northwestern State at Stephen F. Austin, 6:30 p.m.Wednesday, Feb. 26 – UIW at Lamar, 7 p.m.Wednesday, Feb. 26 – Sam Houston State at Abilene Christian, 7:30 p.m.Saturday, Feb. 29 – Central Arkansas at Abilene Christian, 3:30 p.m.Saturday, Feb. 29 – UIW at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, 3:30 p.m.Tuesday, March 3 – Stephen F. Austin at Abilene Christian, 7:30 p.m.Tuesday, March 7 – McNeese at Lamar, 4:30 p.m.Tuesday, March 7 – Sam Houston State at Stephen F. Austin, 4:30 p.m.Wednesday, March 11 – Southland Men’s Tournament Game 1 – First Round, 5 p.m.Wednesday, March 11 – Southland Men’s Tournament Game 2 – First Round, 7:30 p.m.Thursday, March 12 – Southland Men’s Tournament Game 3 – Second Round, 5 p.m.Thursday, March 12 – Southland Men’s Tournament Game 4 – Second Round, 7:30 p.m.Friday, March 13 – Southland Men’s Tournament Game 5 – Semifinal Round, 5 p.m.Friday, March 13 – Southland Men’s Tournament Game 6 – Semifinal Round, 7:30 p.m. Six other teams begin their campaign Tuesday, including defending Southland Conference Tournament champion Abilene Christian facing Arlington Baptist in the league’s nightcap at 7:30 p.m. Reigning regular-season champion Sam Houston State hosts Paul Quinn at 6:30 p.m. Longhorn Network:Saturday, Nov. 30 – McNeese at Texas, 1 p.m. ESPN2:Saturday, Dec. 28 – New Orleans at Memphis, 12:30 p.m.Saturday, March 14 – Southland Men’s Tournament Championship, 8:30 p.m. Big Ten Network:Wednesday, Nov. 13 – McNeese at Wisconsin, 6 p.m.Sunday, Dec. 29 – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at Nebraska, 3 p.m. Big Ten Network Plus:Tuesday, Nov. 5 – Nicholls at Illinois, 7 p.m.Wednesday, Nov. 20 – Stephen F. Austin at Rutgers, 6 p.m.Friday, Nov. 22 – Houston Baptist at Michigan, 6 p.m. Mountain West Network:Saturday, Nov. 16 – McNeese at New Mexico, 7 p.m. ACC Network:Tuesday, Nov. 12 – Central Arkansas at Duke, 6 p.m. WAC Digital Network:Thursday, Nov. 21 – Lamar at Utah Valley, 8 p.m.Saturday, Nov. 30 – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at UTRGV, 7 p.m.Tuesday, Dec. 3 – UIW at Seattle, 7 p.m.Tuesday, Dec. 3 – Sam Houston State at UTRGV, 7 p.m. West Coast Conference Network:Saturday, Dec. 14 – Central Arkansas at Pepperdine, 7 p.m. SEC Network:Monday, Nov. 11 – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at Vanderbilt, 7 p.m.Sunday, Nov. 24 – Lamar at Kentucky, 6 p.m.Tuesday, Dec. 3 – New Orleans at LSU, 8 p.m.Sunday, Dec. 8 – Northwestern State at LSU, 3 p.m. Houston Baptist travels to Tulsa for a noon tip off against the Golden Hurricane, and Nicholls faces a road test against Illinois at 7 p.m. Northwestern State will square off with in-state foe Centenary at 5:30 p.m.center_img ACC Network Extra:Saturday, Nov. 9 – Nicholls at Pittsburgh, 11 a.m. 2019-20 Southland Men’s Basketball Television & Streaming Schedule (PDF)2019-20 Southland Men’s Basketball Media Guide ESPN3:Tuesday, Nov. 5 – Champion Christian at Lamar, 11 a.m.Tuesday, Nov. 5 – Houston Baptist at Tulsa, NoonTuesday, Nov. 5 – Paul Quinn at Sam Houston State, 6:30 p.m.Tuesday, Nov. 5 – Arlington Baptist at Abilene Christian, 7:30 p.m.Wednesday, Nov. 6 – Southeastern Louisiana at Tulane, 7 p.m.Friday, Nov. 8 – Arlington Baptist at Lamar, 7 p.m.Saturday, Nov. 9 – North Carolina Central at Stephen F. Austin, 1:30 p.m.Tuesday, Nov. 12 – New Orleans at SMU, 7 p.m.Friday, Nov. 15 – Mount St. Mary’s at Lamar, 7 p.m.Saturday, Nov. 16 – Northwestern State at Tulane, 1 p.m.Saturday, Nov. 16 – Drexel at Stephen F. Austin, 5:30 p.m.Saturday, Nov. 16 – Pepperdine at Abilene Christian, 7:30 p.m.Tuesday, Nov. 26 – Houston Baptist at Houston, 7 p.m.Tuesday, Nov. 26 – Sam Houston State at CSU-Bakersfield, 9:30 p.m.Friday, Nov. 29 – Abilene Christian at SMU, 7 p.m.Monday, Dec. 2 – Arlington Baptist at Stephen F. Austin, 6:30 p.m.Tuesday, Dec. 3 – Northwestern State at SMU, 7 p.m.Saturday, Dec. 7 – Dallas Christian at Abilene Christian, 7 p.m.Wednesday, Dec. 11 – Southern at Lamar, 7 p.m.Wednesday, Dec. 18 – Houston Baptist at Stephen F. Austin, 6:30 p.m.Saturday, Jan. 4 – Abilene Christian at Lamar, 2 p.m.Wednesday, Jan. 8 – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at Stephen F. Austin, 6:30 p.m.Wednesday, Jan. 8 – Nicholls at Lamar, 7 p.m.Saturday, Jan. 11 – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at Abilene Christian, 3:30 p.m.Saturday, Jan. 25 – Southeastern Louisiana at Northwestern State, 3 p.m.Saturday, Feb. 1 – Stephen F. Austin at Sam Houston State, 5:30 p.m.Saturday, Feb. 1 – UIW at Abilene Christian, 7 p.m.Saturday, Feb. 15 – Houston Baptist at Lamar, 2 p.m.Saturday, Feb. 15 – Southeastern Louisiana at Nicholls, 3 p.m.Saturday, Feb. 15 – Central Arkansas at Sam Houston State, 3:30 p.m.Saturday, Feb. 29 – Lamar at Stephen F. Austin, 4:30 p.m. Fox Sports 1:Saturday, Dec. 28 – Central Arkansas at Marquette, 1 p.m. 2019-20 Southland Men’s Basketball Television & Streaming Schedule Pac-12 Network:Saturday, Dec. 7 – Central Arkansas at Utah, 4 p.m.Saturday, Dec. 21 – UIW at Washington State, 6 p.m. FloSports:Sunday, Nov. 10 – Abilene Christian at Drexel, 2 p.m. Fox Sports Southwest:Saturday, Dec. 14 – Lamar at TCU, 2 p.m. Fox Sports Go:Saturday, Nov. 9 – Central Arkansas at Georgetown, 11 a.m.Saturday, Nov. 9 – New Orleans at Butler, 7 p.m.Tuesday, Nov. 26 – Stephen F. Austin at Duke, 8 p.m.Saturday, Dec. 14 – Nicholls at West Virginia, 2 p.m. Conference USA TV:Tuesday, Dec. 3 – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at UTSA, 7 p.m. New Orleans, the preseason favorite according to the preseason poll voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors, takes on Spring Hill at 7 p.m. FRISCO, Texas – The 56th season of Southland Conference men’s basketball tips off at 11 a.m. CT Tuesday, Nov. 5, when Central Arkansas takes on No. 16 Baylor in Waco, Texas, on ESPN+, and Lamar hosts Champion Christian.last_img read more

Read more