Ellsworth swimmers claim big honors at MISL awards banquet

first_imgAUGUSTA — Members of the Ellsworth swim team claimed major honors Sunday at the Maine Interscholastic Swim League banquet at the Augusta Civic Center.Ellsworth senior Caitlin MacPherson was named Penobscot Valley Conference Girls’ Swimmer of the Year. MacPherson captained an Ellsworth girls’ team that placed fourth at the state championship meet to notch its best-ever result.MacPherson was previously selected as Swimmer of the Meet at the PVC championships Feb. 8 at the University of Maine. She won the conference title in the 200-yard freestyle and placed second in the 500-yard freestyle and as a member of Ellsworth’s 200-yard freestyle relay team.Sophomore Elena Springer was chosen as PVC Diver of the Year. Springer earned a second-place finish in the PVC championships and placed fourth in the state championships Feb. 17 at Bowdoin College.This is placeholder textThis is placeholder textKristy Barry, Sean Hill and Nick Partridge received All-State selections, awarded to the state’s best swimmers regardless of classification. Hill (100 and 200 freestyles and 400 freestyle relay) and Partridge (100-yard breaststroke and 200-yard medley relay) earned multiple All-State honors, and Barry was selected in the 100-yard breaststroke.last_img read more

Read more